About Territories

The Nevada Commission on Tourism was created in 1983 at the proposal of Governor Richard H. Bryan with the intent of diversifying the state’s gaming-based economy. The general goal was to create a more stable economic base in local communities in terms of economic development and to develop Nevada as a business and pleasure destination.

As such, rural counties were divided into territories with the purpose of tourism promotion. Five are designated geographically by location and one – Indian Territory – is cultural.

The six territories are: Cowboy Country, across northern Nevada; Pony Express Territory, across the U.S. Highway 50 corridor; Reno-Tahoe Territory, along the northwestern section surrounding Lake Tahoe; Nevada Silver Trails, in south-central Nevada, Las Vegas Territory in the far south portion of Nevada; and Indian Territory, which covers the entire state.

In each territory, representatives from private and public sector tourism businesses and agencies have formed a nonprofit territorial committee that oversees promotional efforts in the region. The chairperson of each committee serves on the Territory Advisory Committee, which reviews the recommendations by Nevada Division of Tourism staff for grants.

Explore Nevada’s Tourism Territories

Tourism In Your Territory

Select a “Territory” on the map to learn how tourism benefits all of Nevada’s regions.

Cowboy Country

Communities benefiting from tourism in Cowboy Country includes Battle Mountain, Carlin, Denio, Elko, Gerlach, Jarbidge, Jackpot, Lamoille, Lovelock, McDermitt, Owyhee, Unionville, Wells, West Wendover, and Winnemucca.

Reno-Tahoe Territory

Communities benefiting from tourism in Reno-Tahoe include Carson City, Caron Valley (Gardnerville, Genoa, Minden), North Lake Tahoe (including Incline Village and Crystal Bay), South Lake Tahoe (Stateline), Reno, Sparks, Topaz Lake, and Virginia City.

Pony Express Territory

Communities benefiting from tourism in Pony Express Territory include Austin, Baker, Dayton, Ely, Eureka, Fallon, Fernley, McGill and Silver Springs.

Nevada Silver Trails

Communities benefiting from tourism in Nevada Silver Trails include Alamo, Amargosa Valley, Ash Springs, Beatty, Belmont, Caliente, Gabbs, Goldfield, Hawthorne, Pahrump, Pioche, Rachel, Rhyolite, Round Mountain, Tonopah, and Yerington.

Las Vegas Territory

Las Vegas Territory includes Blue Diamond, Boulder City, Cal Nev Ari, Henderson, Indian Springs, Jean/Goodsprings/Primm, Las Vegas, Mesquite, North Las Vegas, Overton and the Moapa Valley, and Searchlight.

Indian Territory

The entire state of Nevada is known as Indian Territory and no wonder. Nevada’s Indian Territory is rich and robust in Western heritage representing 32 active American Indian communities throughout the state. Home to four major American Indian tribes – the Washoe, Northern Paiute, Southern Paiute and Western Shoshone – who all fee a deep connection to the environment and all its gifts, Nevada’s tribes sustained their ethnic identity longer than in other areas because it took longer for Euro-Americans to settle there.